>Initial Response to My Poetry

>Wow.


My last post was up less than 2 hours before i received this email from THE DEAN of HARVARD;



Dear Mr Minogue,

A close friend of mine (President Barack O’Bama!) recommended your blog to me several months ago. I regretfully over looked your blog as I was busy administrating to the college I run aka Harvard.

Cutting to the chase; I just read the poem you wrote to Kate Winslet. It moved me Mr Minogue. Moved me to places I never knew existed. I found your callous disregard for grammar both refreshing and beautifully ironic.

As you may know, I am a black woman, so obviously I know far more about freestyle rap poetry than your vanilla ass ever will but this is good. Real good. That was not a racist statement because as the dean of Harvard, I am clearly an educated black woman.

An element to your verse that I found particularly striking was the use of imagery. The colours and violent portrayal of Ms Winslet face down in the ground are quite bold. The way you contrasted the violence of the first stanza with the tenderness of the second was both innovative, subtle and innovative again.

Double innovation is a skill one does not often see in erotic fan poetry.


While it would be easy to dismiss this poem as the writings of a mentally challenged adolescent, I think that judgement would be far too simplistic and would over look the true merit of the piece aka mind blowingly amazing.

I believe someday society will look upon this poem in the same way we refer to the entire works of T.S Eliot, Wilde, Grandmaster Flash and F. Scott Fitzgerald combined.

We would be honored and double humbled if you would give this years commencement speech.

Warmest Regards,
Dean Evelynn M. Hammonds.



I was not expecting that. And i wrote it in less than a fucking hour. Fuck me jesus, huh?

About davetheminogue

I'm one of those cynics you're always reading about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

